top of page

Accountable Care Organizations (ACOs)

Shared Savings Program.png

The Shared Savings Program is committed to achieving better individual health, better population health, and reduced expenditure growth. The Shared Savings Program is a voluntary program that encourages groups of doctors, hospitals, and other health care providers to come together as an ACO to give coordinated, high-quality care to their Medicare beneficiaries.

Participating ACOs must report quality data to CMS after the close of every performance year to be eligible to share in any earned shared savings and to avoid sharing losses at the maximum level. CMS measures every ACO’s quality performance using standard methods.

Quality measures span four domains:

  • patient/caregiver experience

  • care coordination/patient safety

  • preventive health

  • at-risk populations

2021 ACO Measures.jpg

In response to concerns from ACOs, CMS has extended the CMS Web Interface as a reporting option for ACOs through performance year 2024. ACO’s will be required to report the 3 eCQMs listed in the table on the right beginning in the performance year 2025. Another delay for ACOs is the quality performance standard as they are maintaining the MIPS quality performance score of 30% for the 2023 performance year.  Read more in our blog, EHR Quality Reporting for 2022 APM Performance Pathway (APP)


Let DHIT take the lead for 2023 and beyond.  We support all ACO Quality Measures.  As quality measurement and submission experts, we turbocharge your quality reporting!  

bottom of page